The three trading blocs, which span 26 countries to make up the new free zone, are the South African Development Community, the East African Community and the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa.

The footprint of the free zone area is said to have a combined GDP of $624bn. Six African heads of state signed the agreement, which will boosting growth in the region and create joint infrastructure and energy projects within the zone.