The EU agreed on October 6 to commit nearly €30bn to the western Balkans to spur economic development, regional integration and support the region’s green and digital transition.

The bloc outlined that it would provide €9bn in grant funding and a further €20bn of investment over seven years, reconfirming its commitment to expand the bloc to include the six western Balkan countries — Albania, Bosnia, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia and Serbia.


Charles Michel, president of the European Council, said at a press conference at the summit in Brdo, Slovenia that the “unprecedented amount of money” was being aimed at connecting the western Balkans with EU priorities, encourage regional cooperation and speed the green transition.

“Those investments will play an important role also in making the EU’s presence more visible, more tangible for the people in those countries,” he said. 

The €30bn package is planned to be used for investment in energy, roads, railways, waterway connectivity and other sectors.